Something Else

Shall I tell you something else? Well, I ask out of politeness (I am British after all) but I’m going to tell you regardless. I am a nerd. A huge nerd really. Especially when it comes to books and superheroes. Don’t even get me started. It’s just something you should know, a building block of my personality if you will. By the by, why is that an insult? Why is being a nerd an insult? I don’t see it. I think it’s quite a compliment really; I smile and say thanks. It means you’ve got something going for you, right? Something you like, something you’re good at, something you can talk about comfortably. Something that makes you interesting. Look up the definition of a nerd and you’ll find this:
nəːd/
noun
informal
a foolish or contemptible person who lacks social skills or is boringly studious.
Ignore that ok? We don’t need that sort of negativity. Focus on the next thing it says:
a single-minded expert in a particular technical field. E.g. “a computer nerd”
So there you have it. Anyone can be a nerd. Sort of. You can be a fashion nerd, a makeup nerd, a food nerd (lol), a physics nerd or all of the above. What does it matter? You are what you are.
Has anyone read geek girl? It’s a super easy kind of fun read, I recommend it-just to prove my point on this whole business. It’s about a teenage geek-someone who is socially inept and unfashionable (I mean, come on, socially inept? Isn’t that 80% of teenagers?) and all of a sudden she’s swept into the crazy world of fashion. Fashion is not an equation. For most people that’s a really good thing, but for Harriet (the main character in Geek Girl) that’s a really bad thing. And if you want to know why, you’ll have to read the book. Muahaha. I hate it when people say that, so now I’m saying it. Feel the pain.
Anyway, where was I going with this? Ah yes, I am a nerd not a geek. I’m not a geek for the simple fact that I’m not unfashionable. I don’t necessarily keep up with all the latest fashions, I pick and choose what I like to make my own style. I like wearing stuff that can be worn regardless of what’s “in vogue” (or whatever fashion mag you like), clothes that look good because I just know they do, and so I feel good in them and that, in turn, makes me look good. Or something like that. It’s a happy circle- it’s what I aim for. And I mean, if I can get a T-shirt or a jumper with a superhero emblem on it…I’ll be a very happy girl.
So here’s the thing, I was in Primark the other day, and I was looking for something cool, but they had nothing in the women’s section. So I wandered into the men’s and found a stormtrooper t-shirt, a batman and a captain America jumper. I helped myself to one of each in an extra small. Can you believe it though? Ermm hello?? Girls like batman too…just sayin’. Honestly. Am I asking for too much?
Confession: I have never watched a batman movie. Crazy, huh? My dad does this thing where he practically tells me the story line in so much detail that I feel as if I have in actual fact, seen the movie. And so I just can’t be bothered. I suppose one day I’ll have to watch them. In any case, I’m not a massive DC fan. Wonder woman was AMAZING though. Hands down my wonder-woman-5932632f6f834[1].jpgfavourite DC movie, great storyline, awesome action (I mean, female warriors, what more do you want?) and I cried at the end. I won’t say why, just watch the movie (muahaha). Man of steel was pretty good too, but batman vs superman….it’s a no from me. There was action but…that’s it. There was a lot of action and not a very good plot (in my humble opinion). Don’t bother, it tells you nothing of importance. That reminds me, I’m watching Justice league this evening and I am really looking forward to it because I have waited ages to watch it. I just want to see some more of Wonder woman, she is, after all, a goddess. No seriously, she is. And the Flash is supposed to be funny, Aquaman has longer hair than me (not fair) and we should get some dry, rich-kid comments from Batman. Plus, is superman even alive? He got obliterated in Batman vs Superman…sorry for the spoiler, but if you haven’t watched it by now, you probably never will. Anyway, we’ll see what happens…

Leave a Comment